Anna Scavolini Book 1

In the Silence

Anna Scavolini hasn’t set foot in Glasgow for ten years – and she’s not short of reasons…

On her first night back in town, what should have been the start of a relaxing Christmas getaway takes a decidedly macabre turn when she stumbles upon an old flame, Andrew Foley, bleeding to death on the snow-clad slopes of Kelvingrove Park.

Who killed Foley in such a brutal manner – and why? If the police have any leads, they’re keeping them under wraps. Convinced that Foley was deliberately targeted rather than the victim of a random attack, Anna begins her own investigation, and in so doing unearths a trail of long-buried secrets, leading back to a crime committed over a decade ago.

A crime so unspeakable its perpetrators are prepared to take their silence to the grave.

In the Silence is a fast-paced, compelling crime mystery which will appeal to fans of authors like Mark Billingham, Stuart MacBride and Mark Edwards.

Bloody Scotland

Shortlisted for the Bloody Scotland Debut Prize and longlisted for the McIlvanney Prize, 2019


NOTE: This new edition has been revised to include material not present in the initial publication.



More Books in the Series


Bonus Goodies

Extract

Read the prologue and first three chapters of In the Silence.

Notes on the Second Edition

Notes on the previously deleted material reinstated for this new release.

Anna Scavolini

Learn more about In the Silence's protagonist in this exclusive character dossier.

Murray's Day

Delve into the mind of one of In the Silence's antagonists in this deleted chapter.

Anna Q&A

Read an exclusive interview with Anna herself at Suze Reviews.

The Version That Never Was

Learn about the radical ways in which the original vision differed from the published novel.

Locations Guide

Discover the novel's key locations in this handy guided tour.

Audiobook

The audiobook version of In the Silence, narrated by Fiona McNeill, is available from Audible and through Amazon.

NOTE: this audiobook is based on the first edition of the text.

Audible Amazon UK Amazon US

Reviews

“With well observed characterisation, M.R. Mackenzie writes with precision and passion. He is a writer to watch.”

— Caro Ramsay, author of the Anderson & Costello thrillers

“Mackenzie brings a fresh new voice to the field of Tartan Noir.”

— James Oswald, author of the Inspector McLean novels

“M.R. Mackenzie is right up there with the best contemporary authors working today. His prose is of such high-quality that I am instantly addicted to the words on his pages.”

— David B. Lyons, author of Whatever Happened to Betsy Blake?

“This is splendidly written stuff, triumphing in a variety of areas – not least that of its dialogue, which is idiomatic and vivid (overcoming the hurdle at which many contemporary crime novels fall).”

— Barry Forshaw, Crime Time

“M.R. Mackenzie has created an impressive first novel with In The Silence and an intriguing lead character in Anna Scavolini.”

— Noel Megahey, The Digital Fix ★★★★★

“I was intrigued from the start and that interest kept me entertained and hooked right through to the end.”

Donna's Book Blog ★★★★

“I was so blown away by this book. I expected it to be good, but I. Loved. It.

Goodreads reviewer ★★★★★

“I lost a fair bit of sleep because I genuinely didn’t want to put this book down, it’s twists and turns like a rollercoaster of a ride.”

Goodreads reviewer ★★★★★


Help Spread the Word

In the Silence doesn’t have the weight of a major publisher behind it, so I’m going to need your help to get the word out. Yes, you! That means you. Here’s how you can help:


Buy a Copy!

Goes without saying! Every copy sold helps increase the book’s visibility, and in so doing helps it reach a bigger audience. And, naturally, the money that comes to me will help ensure that I can keep writing more books.


Write a Review!

If you enjoy TIn the Silence, a positive review on your site of choice will be tremendously helpful – especially Amazon or Goodreads. Even just a sentence or a few words saying you liked it is a big help.


Talk to Your Library or Bookshop!

Llibraries and bookshops can order In the Silence through their usual distribution networks. Ask your local branch to stock copies!


Tell People!

Tweet about In the Silence! Blog about it! Post on Facebook about it! Tell your friends about it! Spread the word about its existence far and wide!